SADJI (1914-2005). BBouquet of flowers. Oil...

Lot 344
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 15000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 10 240EUR

SADJI (1914-2005). BBouquet of flowers. Oil...

SADJI (1914-2005). BBouquet of flowers. Oil on canvas signed lower right. 100,5 x 79,5 cm. SADJI " The Chinese Van Gogh ".

Sha Qi, known as Sadji in Europe, was born in Ningbo in 1914. Lulled into art from an early age, he entered the ChangMing College of Fine Arts in Shanghai in 1929 and studied at the Shanghai Academy of Fine Arts in 1932. In 1934, the young man was accepted into the art department of Nanjing Central University, where he met his mentor, Xu Beihong (1895-1953), then professor and head of the art department.

In 1937, after being recommended by Xu, Sadji left China to study Western painting at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Belgium. He studied under Alfred Bastien (1873-1955), a post-impressionist painter who focused on the effects of light and developed a discreet luminism. In Sadji's work we find borrowings from post-impressionism, expressionism and abstract expressionism. In 1938, he received the first prize of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts of Belgium. The following year, he graduated with the highest distinction and won the "Gold Medal for Excellence in Art".

Our painter spent ten years of his life in Europe. He organized several exhibitions, including the one in 1945 in the small gallery, where our painting was exhibited. In 1946, in a state of psychological suffering following the great war, Sadji returned to his native country where he resided until the end of his life. After a few years, the loss of his family plunged him into a depression. Despite a difficult end of life, he will never give up his love and dedication to art.

During the Belgian period, we can observe the influence of Flemish baroque painting in his portraits and find the characteristics of realism in his landscapes.
"The Park of Brussels" shows a remarkable pictorial mastery of light and colour. Finally, let us note the particularly large format of this canvas which seems to be one of the artist's largest paintings.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

SADJI (1914-2005). BBouquet de fleurs. Huile...

Lot 344
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 15000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 10 240EUR

SADJI (1914-2005). BBouquet de fleurs. Huile...

SADJI (1914-2005). BBouquet de fleurs. Huile sur toile signée en bas à droite. 100,5 x 79,5 cm. SADJI « Le Van Gogh Chinois »

Sha Qi, connu sous son nom d’artiste Sadji en Europe, est né à Ningbo en 1914. Bercé dans l'art depuis son plus jeune âge, il intégra le Collège des Beaux-Arts de ChangMing à Shanghai en 1929 et étudia à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Shanghai en 1932. En 1934, le jeune homme fut accepté au département des arts de l'université centrale de Nanjing, où il rencontra son mentor, Xu Beihong (1895-1953), alors professeur et directeur du département des arts.

En 1937, après avoir été recommandé par Xu, Sadji quitta la Chine pour étudier la peinture occidentale à l'Académie royale des beaux-arts de Belgique. Il suit l'enseignement de Alfred Bastien (1873-1955), un peintre post-impressionniste qui se focalise sur les effets de lumière et développe un luminisme discret. Dans l'œuvre de Sadji, nous trouvons l'emprunt du post-impressionnisme, de l'expressionnisme et de l'expressionnisme abstrait. En 1938, il reçu le premier prix de l'Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Belgique. L'année suivante, il obtient son diplôme avec la plus haute distinction et remporte "La Médaille d'or d'excellence de l'art".

Notre peintre passe ainsi dix années de sa vie en Europe. Il organisa plusieurs expositions, notamment celle de 1945 à la petite galerie, où notre tableau a été exposé. En 1946, en état de souffrance psychologique des suite de la grande guerre, Sadji regagne alors son pays natal où il résidera jusqu'à la fin de sa vie. Après quelques années, la perte de sa famille le plonge alors dans une dépression. Malgrés une fin de vie difficile, il ne renonçera jamais à son amour et à son dévouement pour l'art.

Durant la période Belge, nous pouvons aussi bien observer l'influence de la peinture baroque Flamande dans ses portraits et retrouver les caractéristiques du réalisme dans ses paysages.
"Le parc de Bruxelles" témoigne d'une maîtrise picturale remarquable de la lumière et des couleurs. Finalement notons le format particulièrement grand de cette toile qui semble faire partie des plus grandes peinture de l’artiste.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue