"CHINA, Qing dynasty, 19th century. Jifu... - Lot 213 - FW Auction

Lot 213
Got to lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 3 469EUR
"CHINA, Qing dynasty, 19th century. Jifu... - Lot 213 - FW Auction
"CHINA, Qing dynasty, 19th century. Jifu rider's coat of embroidered silk and gold thread.

Six five-clawed dragons, symbols of authority, search for flaming pearls among constellations and bats: three in front, one behind and one on each shoulder. The background is strewn with peonies and Buddhist emblems: fish, endless knot, wheel of the law, lotus, canopy, conch shell, royal parasol. The lower part of the garment is decorated with the colours of the rainbow from which the liushui waves and rocks spring. Above the tumultuous waves, precious objects such as rhinoceros horns, jewels, sapecs, paintings and books appear. Some of the twelve signs of imperial authority appear on the garment such as the sacrificial axe, the water plant, the constellations, the mountains etc... Silk lining. Dimensions : 180 X 220 cm.
Good condition except for some stains, a fragility at the neckline. Two small holes in the lining.
Provenance : Collected during the China Expedition (1900-1901) by a French soldier, remained in the family since that date. A document from the Ministry of War mentioning the National Commemorative Medal and two photos have been kept by the family.

Note: During the Qing Dynasty and according to the protocol, the officials surrounding the emperor had to wear outfits referring to the nomadic style of the Manchu horsemen who founded this dynasty. The jifu is the dress intended for the semi-officials on the occasion of ceremonies such as festivals, banquets etc... We do not have the collar of our jifu. It could be that the dragons missing to reach the canonical number of nine dragons were embroidered on this part of the garment."
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

"CHINE, dynastie Qing , XIXème siècle. Manteau...

Lot 213
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 3 469EUR

"CHINE, dynastie Qing , XIXème siècle. Manteau...

"CHINE, dynastie Qing , XIXème siècle. Manteau de cavalier jifu en soie brodée et fils d’or.

Six dragons à cinq griffes , symboles d’autorité, cherchent les perles flamboyantes parmi les constellations et les chauve-souris : trois à l’avant, un derrière et un sur chaque épaule. Le fond est parsemé de pivoines et d’emblêmes bouddhiques : poissons , noeud sans fin, roue de la loi, lotus, dais, conque, parasol royal. La partie basse du vêtement est ornée des couleurs de l’arc en ciel d’où jaillissent les vagues liushui et les rochers. Au dessus des flots tumultueux surgissent des objets précieux tels que les cornes de rhinocéros, le joyau, les sapèques, la peinture, les livres. Certains des douze signes de l’autorité impériale apparaissent sur le vêtement comme la hâche sacrificielle, la plante aquatique, les constellations, les montagnes etc... Doublure soie. Dimensions : 180 X 220 cm.
Bel état général excepté quelques taches, une fragilité à l’encolure. Deux petits trous dans la doublure.
Provenance : Collecté lors de l’Expédition de Chine (1900-1901) par un militaire français, resté dans la famille depuis cette date. Un document du Ministère de la Guerre mentionnant la Médaille nationale commémorative et deux photos ont été conservées par la famille.

Note: Au cours de la dynastie Qing et selon le protocole, les officiels entourant l’empereur devaient porter des tenues faisant référence au style nomade des cavaliers Mandchous fondateurs de cette dynastie. Le jifu est la tenue destinée aux semi-officiels à l’occasion de cérémonies telles que les festivals, banquets etc ... Nous ne disposons pas du col de notre jifu. Il se pourrait que les dragons manquants pour atteindre le chiffre canonique de neuf dragons aient été brodés sur cette partie du vêtement."
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue