Piece of the Vendome column Bronze. Early...

Lot 178
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 6 400EUR

Piece of the Vendome column Bronze. Early...

Piece of the Vendome column
Bronze. Early 19th century period
Dim: 12,5 x14,5cm
Cast bronze piece on sand depicting the end of a pair of horse paws. The lower edge has been polished so that it can be engraved "Thiebault fondeur à Paris". Name probably scratched off by one of the foundry's craftsmen. One can read on the hooves "the head of this horse was given to Marshal Mac Mahon" flanked by two other inscriptions. On the upper left field "Debris of the Vendôme column shot down on May 16". On the lower left field " Commune de paris 16 mars 26 mai 1871 ".
History of a Monument : The Vendôme column was inspired by the Trajan column in Rome which had impressed Bonaparte during the Italian campaign. Erected between 1806 and 1810 in memory of the Battle of Austerlitz. Victory which gave Napoleon all the legitimacy he needed to sit on the Imperial throne. Many of the greatest artists of the time worked on this project. They include Vivant Denon and Antoine-Denis Chaudet. As for the bronze, it came from the Russian and Austrian cannons then defeated and was cast by Jean-Baptiste Launay. It was unblocked under the commune in 1871 at the instigation of the painter Gustave Courbet. After the fall of the commune, it was in 1875 that Mac-Mahon undertook the restoration of the monument, which he entrusted to the foundryman Thiebaut in Paris. Our fragment marked "Thibault fondeur à paris" comes from this company. The invoice will be addressed to our painter who will have to pay 10 000 francs per year for 33 years. He died in 1877 before being able to pay his first draft.
The intervention of a Marshal: Marshal Mac-Mahon received the head of the horse tied to this pair of hooves. The future president of the French republic is far from being a stranger to the history of our column. Indeed, it is he who will give the assault at the head of the "Versailles" who will put an end to the commune of Paris and as we have seen above, will order the restoration of
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Fragment de la colonne vendôme Bronze. Epoque...

Lot 178
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 6 400EUR

Fragment de la colonne vendôme Bronze. Epoque...

Fragment de la colonne vendôme
Bronze. Epoque début du XIXème siècle
Dim : 12,5 x14,5cm
Pièce de bronze fondu sur sable figurant l’extrémité d’une paire de pattes de cheval. La tranche inférieure a été polie afin de pouvoir y graver « Thiebault fondeur à Paris ». Nom probablement écorché par un des artisans de la fonderie. On peut lire sur les sabots « la tête de ce cheval a été donnée au Maréchal Mac Mahon » flanqué de deux autres inscriptions. Sur le champ supérieur gauche « Débris de la colonne vendôme abattue le 16 mai ». Sur le champ inférieur gauche « Commune de paris 16 mars 26 mai 1871 ».
Histoire d’un Monument : La colonne Vendôme s’inspire de la colonne Trajane à Rome qui avait impressionné Bonaparte lors de la campagne d’Italie. Erigée entre 1806 et 1810 en souvenir de la bataille d’Austerlitz. Victoire qui donnera toute la légitimité dont Napoléon avait besoin pour s’assoir sur le trône Imperial. Nombres des plus grands artistes de l’époque travaillèrent sur ce projet. On peut citer Vivant Denon ou encore Antoine-Denis Chaudet. Le bronze quant à lui proviendra des canons russe et autrichien alors vaincus et sera fondu par Jean-Baptiste Launay. Elle fut déboulonnée sous la commune en 1871 sur l’instigation du peintre Gustave Courbet. Après la chute de la commune, c’est en 1875 que Mac-Mahon entreprendra la restauration du monument qu’il confiera au fondeur Thiebaut à Paris. Notre fragment marqué « Thibault fondeur à paris » provient de cette entreprise. La facture sera adressée à notre peintre qui devra payer 10 000 francs par an pendant 33 ans. Il s’éteignit en 1877 avant d’avoir pu régler sa première traite.
L’intervention d’un Maréchal : Le maréchal Mac-Mahon reçu la tête du cheval lié à cette paire de sabots. Le futur président de la république française est loin d'être étranger à l’histoire de notre colonne. En effet, c'est lui qui donnera l'assaut à la tête des « versaillais » qui mettra fin à la commune de paris et comme no
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue