THEODORE FRÈRE (FRA/ 1814-1888) Hookah smokers,...

Lot 50
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 18 560EUR

THEODORE FRÈRE (FRA/ 1814-1888) Hookah smokers,...

THEODORE FRÈRE (FRA/ 1814-1888)
Hookah smokers, circa 1857
signed 'TH. BROTHER' (bottom right); with the supplier's stamp 'PICARD HARDY' (on the reverse) and the inscription 'Monsieur Theodore Frère, artiste peintre Ecouen' (on the frame).
oil on canvas
47.5 x 40.5 cm.

After having travelled through Algeria, Turkey, Greece, Lebanon and Syria, Theodore Frère acquired international fame as an orientalist painter in the 1850s. From 1853 onwards, the artist divided his time between Cairo, where he took up a studio, and Paris, his native city. A painter at the court of Egypt's Viceroy Said Pasha, Brother also regularly exhibited at the Paris Salon, where his real and fantasy views of Egypt made him famous.

In 1855, Théodore Frère decided to leave Paris in search of a quieter environment, which he found in Ecouen, where his brother Pierre-Edouard, also a painter, was living. Théodore Frère stayed there at least until 1858, when he moved to Montmorency, before returning to Paris and then to Egypt.

In the present work, a stamp on the reverse of Picard-Hardy, a Parisian colour dealer active in 1857, as well as the mention on the stretcher 'Théodore Frère, painter Ecouen', allow us to date the work around 1857. The scene depicted is most probably a free interpretation of an Egyptian palace interior with hookah smokers, idealised evoking the oriental atmosphere, rather than a specific place. The rarity of the subject and its particularly thorough and detailed treatment make it an important work in the artist's body of work.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

THÉODORE FRÈRE (FRA/ 1814-1888) Les fumeurs...

Lot 50
Aller au lot
8 000 - 10 000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 18 560 EUR

THÉODORE FRÈRE (FRA/ 1814-1888) Les fumeurs...

THÉODORE FRÈRE (FRA/ 1814-1888)
Les fumeurs de narguilé, vers 1857
signé 'TH. FRÈRE' (en bas à droite); avec le tampon de fournisseur 'PICARD HARDY' (au revers) et l'inscription 'monsieur Theodore Frère, artiste peintre Ecouen' (sur le châssis)
huile sur toile
47.5 x 40.5 cm.

Après avoir parcouru l'Algérie, la Turquie, la Grèce, le Liban et la Syrie, Théodore Frère acquiert au cours des années 1850 une notoriété internationale en tant que peintre orientaliste. L'artiste partage son temps à partir de 1853 entre Le Caire, où il prend un atelier, et Paris, sa ville natale. Peintre à la cour du vice-roi d'Egypte Saïd Pacha, Frère expose également régulièrement au Salon de Paris, où ses vues à la fois réelles et fantasmées d'Egypte font sa renommée.

En 1855, Théodore Frère décide de quitter Paris à la recherche d'un environnement plus calme qu'il trouve à Ecouen, où son frère Pierre-Edouard, également peintre, est installé. Théodore Frère y restera au moins jusqu'en 1858, date à laquelle il déménage à Montmorency, avant de retourner à Paris puis en Egypte.

Dans la présente oeuvre, un tampon au revers de Picard-Hardy, marchand de couleurs parisien actif en 1857, ainsi que la mention sur le châssis 'Théodore Frère, artiste peintre Ecouen', permettent de dater l'oeuvre vers 1857. La scène représentée est très probablement l'interprétation libre d'un intérieur de palais Egyptien avec des fumeurs de narguilé, évoquant de façon idéalisée l'atmosphère orientale, plûtot qu'un lieu précis. La rareté du sujet et son traitement particulièrement abouti et détaillé en fait une oeuvre importante dans le corpus de l'artiste.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue